Sticker Addict

Hello, my name is Jim and I’m addicted to stickers….

I have a large box in which I store most of my hiking/camping gear excludimg my down quilts. The gear box is fairly large and a dark green in color, but I wanted it to look better. As I made purchases upgrading my gear over the last year or so, if they were not included for free, I purchased decals when they were available. There were also a few stickers I purchased because I wanted them (for example, the “Shug” sticker).

Things were looking promising, both in gear and decorating the gear box. However, I have decided I’m pretty content with my gear and probably won’t make any major changes (maybe some summer quilts, but that’s about it). My lightweight packing list is addressed in a previous blog post if you are interested my gear list (it needs minor updating). Even after my upgrades and other decal purchases, the gear box looks still looks sad and there’s WAY too much green. So, on the advice of a hammockforum member, I took an afternoon (or two) and sent emails to various companies or used the “Contact Us” section on the webpage requesting a sticker for my gear box.

It was very successful as I will have lots of stickers now! My gear box will now be spectacularly smothered in vinyl goodness. I purchased a few decals, some were given to me by others, and a few I had to send a self address and stamped envelope in order to receive the decal.

Here’s the “before” picture:
Gear Box

I thought I’d post a list just in case there were other people that wanted to add to their sticker collection. My goal is to have at least one for every letter of the alphabet. As of 5/04/2015, this is the list of stickers I have received and are proudly displayed:

2 Trees Outdoors
Alabama Outdoors
Alite Designs
AlpineAire Foods
ALPS Mountaineering
AntiGravity Gear
Arrowhead Equipment
Backcountry Outdoor Gear and Clothing
Backpacker’s Pantry
Badgerbalm
Big Angus
Clif Bar
Columbia River Knife and Tool
Costa (sunglasses)
Daily hiker
Darn Tough Socks
Dirty Girl Gaiters
Dutch Ware Gear
Easton Products
Elemental Horizons
Eureka
Evernew
Exped
Feathered Friends
FITS sock
GoLite
Good to Go Foods
Goosefeet Gear
Gossamer Gear
Granite Gear
Gregory
GSI Outdoors
Hammock Gear
HammockForums
Hammeck Hammocks
Honey Stinger
HYOH (here is the thread for this one: http://whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php/79927-Free-quot-Hike-Your-Own-Hike-quot-stickers?highlight=hyoh)
Hyperlight Mountain Gear
Icebreaker Clothing
Joshua Tree
Kahtoola
Katabatic Gear
Katadyn
Keep Calm and Hike On
Komperdell
Lightheart Gear
LRI (photon micro lights)
Mag-lite
Marmot
Merrell Footware
Mountain House
Mountain Laurel Designs
Mountainsmith
Mountain Khakis
MSR
Nalgene
Nemo Equipment
Nite Ize
Our Life Outside
Osprey
Packit Gourmet
Petzl
Photon
Platypus
QiWiz Ultralight Gear
REI
Rock Creek
Seal Line
Shut (Woo Buddy)
Sierra Designs
Six Moon Designs
Smartwool
Snow Peak
Speer Hammocks
Superfeet Insoles
Suunto
Tarptent Ultralight Shelters
Terrain Outdoor Center
Therm-a-Rest
Trailspace
Trek Light Gear
Ultimate Direction
Vargo
Vasque
Warbonnet Outdoors
Will South
MISSING SOMETHING STARTING WITH THE LETTER “X”
Yukon Outfitters
Zpacks

There are other companies that haven’t sent a response and I’m still missing a few letters. I will keep this list updated as additions are made to my collection.

If you have some suggestions for the missing letters, please let me know.

Edit: here’s an updated picture of the front:
image

And the right side:
image

And the left side:
image

About jnunniv

I like outdoor activities including hiking, camping, and scuba diving.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, decal, Hammock Camping, Hiking, Report, stickers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

