New wetsuit!

I must have been a good boy this year….

For Christmas I received a new 5 mm wetsuit with matching hood and gloves! It is the Henderson AquaLock (http://hendersonusa.com/series/aqua-lock/).

It’s my very first brand new wetsuit as the one I have been using was a hand-me-down from my father-in-law. I have no complaints as I have used it many times over the past several years including my recent live aboard experience. It works great but it is several (I’d hate to guess how many) years old and is getting pretty worn. The new Henderson wetsuit is a 5 mm versus the 3 mm of the older one. Although since it was a two piece, I really had 6 mm covering my core. I didn’t have my own hood, the gloves I have been wearing were only 1.5 mm, and my boots were 3 mm. Considering this, the Henderson AquaLock set should be much warmer overall.

The Henderson wetsuit is lined with a “golden micro fleece” which feels awesome! It is almost a semi dry suit as the wrist and ankles have tight fitting seals to keep out water. The hood and gloves are also designed to work with this system. Maybe I will be good enough to get the boots for my birthday, so I can be covered head to toe (literally) in 5 mm warmness!

I look forward to diving in the early spring and being warm(er) in the quarry where I usually dive. Look forward to a trip report and review in a few months!

About jnunniv

I like outdoor activities including hiking, camping, and scuba diving.
This entry was posted in SCUBA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

