My “lightweight” packing list

If you have been reading my blog, you know that one of my goals is to enjoy spending time outdoors. Once of the ways to enjoy hiking and camping is by carrying less weight (makes hiking more enjoyable) while carrying everything you need for the conditions (makes camping more enjoyable). When it comes to the right gear I have researched, saved, bought, sold, and researched some more….

While I do believe quality gear is essential, it doesn’t have to be the most expensive gear out there. For instance, some of the most recommended rain gear is the Frogg Toggs Ultralight Rain suit and it cost around $20! It’s light, effective, and is easily replaced because it’s not the most durable. NOTE: this is not what I have.

So, I thought I would share my current base weight packing list for a multiple (2-3 day) late fall/early spring trip. For longer trips, there is not much more that I would include besides more food and possibly more fuel depending on resupply. I do have additional insulation (jacket, bottom thermal, etc) that I would take in colder temperatures.

You may have your gear organized differently, but here is my list:

Pack: ULA Ohm 2.0 weight: 26 oz
Pack Liner: Trash compactor Bag: 2.45 oz
Cuben Fiber Stuff sack for spare clothes: 0.25 oz
Bandana to wipe sweat out of eyes hooked through shoulder strap: 1.0 oz
Total Pack weight: 29.7 oz

Warbonnet Blackbird 1.1 SL with adj webbing and Dutch Clips in Bishop bag: 21.75 oz
Hammock Gear 20 degree underquilt: 19.25 oz
Hammock Gear 20 degree topquilt: 17.95 oz
Cuben Fiber stuff sack for quilts: 0.30 oz
Warbonnet Superfly (skins, all lines, Dutch flyz,in bishop bag): 23.65 oz
Titanium Stakes (8), extra line, in stuff sack: 3.4 oz
Total shelter weight: 86.3 oz – lots of weight to cut here, but it’s going to take some saving!

Cookkit including Imusa mug, alcohol stove, titanium spoon, fuel,scrubbie, lighter in stuff sack: 14.4 oz

Clothes packed:
sleep shorts and shirt (synthetic):9.75 oz
Darn Tough Socks 2 pr. 1 for sleep, 1 extra: 5.9 oz
Merino Wool long sleeve, 1/4 zip top: 8.2 oz
Spare Underwear (synthetic boxer briefs): 3.15
Army Wool glove liners with fingers cut off: 1.6 oz
Frogg Toggs Poncho; 10.05 oz
Total clothing packed: 38.65 oz

Tools, misc:
GPS: 4.9 oz
Small notebook, pencil: 1.85 oz
Compass: 1.7 oz
Whistle: 0.4 oz
Fire Kit (striker, tinder): 1.9 oz
SMALL insect repellant spray: 1.15 oz
Headlamp: 2.95 oz
Map: 2.0 oz
Refletix sit pad: 3.4 oz
Total tools, misc: 20.25 oz

Water filter: 7.7 oz
Water Bottles (2 old Gatorade bottles): 2.1 oz
First Aid Kit: 3.05 oz
toothbrush, soap, dental floss, etc: 5.45 oz
“Poop kit” – wipes and hand sanitizer: 1.0 oz
Ursack Minor Food bag (no bears where I live): 5.2 oz

From my calculations, that makes my basic pack weight right around 14 lbs!

I do have other items I will take depending on mileage, conditions, or what I have planned, but never more than 20 pounds excluding food or water.

My goal is to be under 10 pounds for the above basic load and carry less than 15-16 pounds fully loaded

If you want to lighten your load, go purchase a digital scale that weighs in grams or ounces and list EVERYTHING. Use either a spreadsheet or http://www.geargrams.com to list, compare, plan different loads, etc. Did I mention Gear Grams is free??

About jnunniv

I like outdoor activities including hiking, camping, and scuba diving.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hammock Camping, Hiking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

