The “perfect” set up – is it possible???

After much research, I saved up quite a sum of money and purchased what I thought was the “Perfect” set up.  After receiving and trying my new items, I am surprised at the number of items I have traded/sold/purchased different items.

I sold my Warbonnet Blackbird 1.1 Double Layer and purchased the same hammock in a single layer (and did a review on this blog if you are interested).

I sold my Warbonnet Mamajamba Tarp (with door kit) and purchased a Warbonnet Superfly (and did a review on this blog if you are interested).

Instead of a canister stove (which I have enjoyed) I purchased an alcohol stove (and did a review on this blog if you are interested).

I just I traded my ULA Circuit for a ULA Ohm 2.0.

My base weight continues to drop and I’ve justified purchasing a few more additional items while my base weight (no food or water) has stayed around 16-17 pounds depending on the weather.

I’ve also explored lighter hammock set ups, tarps, still more stove and cookware options, clothes, reducing my FAK, etc.

So, do you ever find the “perfect” set up or do you just get tired of messing with it and settle and say that it’s good enough???  I’m still trying to find ways to lighten my load as I would love to hit the 15 pound mark while still not having to “rough it” too much….

About jnunniv

I like outdoor activities including hiking, camping, and scuba diving.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hammock Camping, Hiking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The “perfect” set up – is it possible???

  1. Nick L. says:

    I’ve actually never heard of the brand Warbonnet. Do you like it? I actually run the site http://www.backpackhammocks.com. I feature some of the bigger hammock brands. Maybe I need to add Warbonnet to my list!

    • jnunniv says:

      I love my Warbonnet Blackbird Hammock! I had never heard of them either before I joined http://www.hammockforums.net. There are a lot of backpackers that have a Warbonnet hammock – and the Superfly Tarp is AWESOME. The company is a “cottage vendor” meaning that they are made here in the U.S.A (Evergreen, Colorado) and must be purchased from either the website (www.warbonnetoutdoors.com) or from someone that owns one as they are not available in retail stores, amazon, etc.

      You should check them out!

Leave a Reply

