Busy times and the countdown has started!

Wow, the past 30 days has been nonstop! I have earned my Advanced Diver and Enriched Air Certifications in SCUBA, been on a work related weeklong trip to Ogden, UT as well as another work related trip to Ft. Bragg, NC (which I was preparing for in a previous blog). I have picked up an older model of the GoPro camera (lost and recoverd while using it on the first dives) and HAD to practice with it before an item on my bucket list! In fact, this video was shot just two days ago: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gQAOoMpEe2M It’s not super duper quality, but I’m still learning….

I have wanted to learn how to SCUBA dive after watching Wild Kingdom MANY years ago. Although I’ve been certified since 2009, my diving experience has been fairly limited as I only have approx 30+ dives. Well, that is about to change! In 16 days I begin my journey to an item on my bucket list – my first liveaboard dive trip. On Wednesday of that week, I drive to central Florida to my father in law’s house. The next day we will drive to Key West to board the boat. This trip I will be traveling/diving with my Father in law as well as his friend that is a professional photographer. Basically, you live on a boat and dive in different locations over several days. Not only will the diving be amazing, but we should have plenty of pictures of our adventure.

We board the MV Spree on Thursday (31 July) at night, and dive all day Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. Just to give you an idea, we will do about 20 dives on that trip. We are doing the “Wreck Trek” trip, so most of our dives will be on shipwrecks – either “accidently” or purposely sunk for diving. The Florida Keys has a Shipwreck Trail (http://floridakeys.noaa.gov/shipwrecktrail/welcome.html) and we are scheduled to dive on all nine wrecks on the trail during this trip.

So I’m starting to gather my equipment and make a packing list. 16 more days….

About jnunniv

I like outdoor activities including hiking, camping, and scuba diving.
This entry was posted in SCUBA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

