What a GREAT Father’s Day Weekend!

At a later date I will have to provide an update with pictures (and video if possible).

This past weekend was awesome! For Father’s Day I was certified as an Advanced Diver and Nitrox – I’ve had my “basic” or open water diver certification since 2009. For the non-SCUBA people, the Advanced Diver certifies you to go past 60 ft. in depth (the max is 130 ft) and exposes/fine tunes some other skills – some of which are selected by the diver. For my advanced certification I selected Peak Performance Buoyancy, Underwater Videography, and Search and Recovery. The Deep Dive (another blog post soon) and Underwater Navigation are mandatory dives as part of this certification.

The Nitrox certification allows you to use air with a higher percentage of Oxygen. The “normal” air is approx 21% oxygen and Nitrox allows you to go up to 40%. The most common is 32%. This exposes you to less Nitrogen (the bad stuff in SCUBA) but also affects your max bottom depth as well as too much oxygen CAN be a bad thing (go figure, right?) so this course teaches all of this.

We did a total of 5 dives in various conditions and had a GREAT time! I also played with my new GoPro camera which I will discuss in a longer post as well.

So this time of year, I’ll either see you between the trees or blowing bubbles….

About jnunniv

I like outdoor activities including hiking, camping, and scuba diving.
This entry was posted in Report, SCUBA, Testing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

