Warbonnet Superfly Tarp Review and set up.

DISCLAIMER: I purchased this product and was not given any compensation by Warbonnet Outdoors. I am conducting this review solely to pass the information to others that may be interested.

I received my Warbonnet Superfly (WBSF) Tarp a day or two ago but today was the first day I was able to really get it out and conduct a proper review. Previously I had a tarp by Warbonnet (www.warbonnetoutdoors.com) called the Mamajamba (WBMJ) and also an optional door kit. The WBSF is roughly the same size as the WBMJ with doors but it is one piece of silnylon instead of the doors being detachable. While the detachable doors sound awesome (I thought so, that’s why I ordered it that way), in reality I think it is more of a “complication” than really needed. It’s actually a very easy system and it works great, but it looks “messy” with all the lengths of shock cord running to attachment points. I must say that I have used the WBMJ with doors in pouring rain with 20 mph wind gust and it performed flawlessly. By flawless I mean I stayed dry in horrible conditions. Plus, I think the WBSF just looks better as it is simple, streamlined, and as sexy as a tarp can be. BUT I WANTED A SUPERFLY!!!! SO I sold the WBMJ and optional door kit on hammockforums (quite quickly) and turned around and ordered a brand new WBSF.

According to the Warbonnet website, the stock WBSF weighs 19 oz. Out of the box, my tarp and stuff sack hit the scale at 19.45 oz.

That’s not bad for a 4 season tarp. I had some hardware, guy lines, double ended stuff sack, and tarp skins from the WBMJ that I transferred over to the WBSF so my total weight is slightly higher at 23.4 oz with all the goodies attached.
20140423-231252.jpg

I store my tarp in mesh tarp skins from MountainGoat (http://www.outdoortrailgear.com/cottage-industries/mountaingoatgear/mesh-tarp-storage-sleeves/). Frankly, it is probably the best $25 I have spent as it makes set up and tear down SO easy! The mesh sleeves have a little pocket on the end to store your line so it won’t get tangled.

I stuff my tarp (now in mesh skins) into a ZPacks Cuben Fiber Double Ended Stuff Sack (http://www.zpacks.com/accessories/stuff_sacks.shtml). My main motivation was the double ended stuff sack, not the cuben fiber. I was purchasing some other items, so I included this one on my order. When arriving from Warbonnet, the WBSF is in a standard (one end) stuff sack. While this will work, the opening on both ends makes it much easier in my opinion.

For the ridgeline tie outs, I use the guyline from Warbonnet that is 1.75mm single braid dyneema. I have tarp Flyz from Dutch (http://dutchwaregear.com/flyz.html) for easy attachment and adjustment. On the 4 side timeouts I use black Glowire from Lawson Equipment (http://lawsonequipment.com/Reflective-Glowire-Cord/Reflective-Glowire-100-Black-p973.html). I like this cord a lot. It is highly reflective but only if you are shining a light on it directly. I hate tripping over my tie outs and this helps. My doors tie outs are a piece of shock cord about 3 ft long with loops tied in each end.

So I pull out my tarp, open one end of the stuff sack, loop the line around the tree, and attach using the Tarp Flyz.

I do the same thing to the other side and my tarp is hung. Often I will leave the tarp this way (in the mesh skins) until it is needed.

When I am ready to deploy my tarp, I just pull the mesh skins back and the tarp falls toward the ground.

To tie out the tarp, I stake out the four sides, but now I have a choice. Do I deploy the doors or tie them back? This mostly depends on the weather. If it is slightly breezy or light rain I will often tie both ends out to give me LOTS of room.

Here’s a view from the inside.


If it’s stormy, I will close one or both doors as needed.

My decision was to use shockcord on the doors. I use a length of approximately 30 inches with loops (bowline) on each end.

I can simply loop over the opposite side stake to close off the end. By doing so, I can easily pull/push the doors to enter and exit, but the doors will snap back to the closed position.

To pitch the tarp with the doors fastened all the way open in fair weather, there are several methods and I am still experimenting. For this time, I folded the doors inward and stretched the shockcord toward the other door on the same side. I pulled the loop slightly through the attachment ring and used a very small stick to hold in place. If you can tell from the picture, the wood only touches the shockcord and the attachment ring. I’m not 100% sold on this method though.

The WBSF is an awesome tarp. While it is a little on the heavy side (nearly two pounds the way I have it rigged) it will handle just about anything that Mother Nature can dish out when it comes to rain and wind. I can’t wait to test this new gear in storm conditions while in the woods.

EDIT/UPDATE 02 April 2015:

I still love this tarp! It has been used in some rough conditions and has never failed me. I now just loop the shockcord over the opposite “triangle thingie” to either close up the doors in storm mode OR to tie back the doors.

I also swapped out the Dutch Flyz for the Dutch Wasps, but just ordered the continuous ridgleline from Dutch. I love the Dutch Wasps as they are slightly easier to adjust than the Dutch Flyz, but I’m looking forward to the total adjustability of the continuous ridgeline.

EDIT 31 May 2015: After several trips, I have discovered I REALLY like the continuous riverine from Dutch Ware Gear. It’s the easiest way to get the tarp in the perfect spot without having to change any lines. It does add a small bit of weight, but I enjoy it so much, I’ll take the very small weight penalty for ease of use.

Thanks for reading!

About jnunniv

I like outdoor activities including hiking, camping, and scuba diving.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hammock Camping, Report, Testing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Warbonnet Superfly Tarp Review and set up.

  1. Pingback: YAY! New Purchase for warm weather! | jnunniv

Leave a Reply

